brookline booksmith

Events What We're Reading Giftsmith Kidsmith Used Book Cellar Audiobooks

Galentine’s 2017

by Zoe

T.S. Eliot may have been right about April being the cruelest month, but February is definitely no cotton candy picnic either. The shine on the excitement of the new year has had a month to wear off, and the warmth and goodwill of the holidays have been boxed and shelved until next season. February stands alone, the beginning of the endless winter, the harbinger of frozen car door handles and gritty, brown, wet L.L. Bean boots. Then, smack dab in the middle of this drab month comes Valentine’s Day, arguably the most divisive of holidays, highlighting the love you may or seemingly may not have in your life. It’s awkward, to say the least.

Which is why, on February 13th, we celebrate Galentine’s day. The 14th is complicated, can instill hurt feelings even in the most enlightened of people, but Galentine’s day holds no such stigma. On Galentine’s day, we celebrate our lady friends, or we celebrate our friends that celebrate ladies. It’s kind of an open-ended day, as long as you treat your friends like royalty and think how you could make them better, stronger, and more resilient against the barbs and arrows of this world.

Here are some items you might want to consider for your Galentine’s day tributes:

Valentines can be overpowering to some; the expectations of this specific February day can needle its way under your skin without you even knowing it. Give your galentines the power to command their emotions with these two books by the Bennett’s, Michael and his daughter Sarah.

In this brilliantly sensible and funny book, a Harvard-educated shrink and his comedy-writing daughter reveal that the real f-words in life are “feelings” and “fairness.” While most self-help books are about your feelings and fulfilling your wildest dreams, F*ck Feelings will show you how to find a new kind of freedom by getting your head out of your ass and yourself onto the right path toward realistic goals and feasible results.



Women are strong and powerful and can do anything, and your friends are no different of that. Remind them of that with this index of incredible women around the world. Added bonus - fill out a piece of paper with an entry on each of your best friends. Tuck the page behind the cover to let them know you think they belong in this list of unstoppable women.

Rad Women Worldwide tells fresh, engaging, and amazing tales of perseverance and radical success by pairing well-researched and riveting biographies with powerful and expressive cut-paper portraits. The book features an array of diverse figures from 430 BCE to 2016, spanning 31 countries around the world, from Hatshepsut (the great female king who ruled Egypt peacefully for two decades) and Malala Yousafzi (the youngest person to win the Nobel Peace Prize) to Poly Styrene (legendary teenage punk and lead singer of X-Ray Spex) and Liv Arnesen and Ann Bancroft (polar explorers and the first women to cross Antarctica).


Galentines day doesn’t have to be about the light and fluffy business of girlhood. Feel free to get dark and powerful with your gifts, to inspire real healing, real growth.

Milk and Honey is a collection of poetry and prose about survival. About the experience of violence, abuse, love, loss, and femininity.


In the Empire of Migdal Bavel, Cherry is married to Jerome, a wicked man who makes a diabolical wager with his friend Manfred: if Manfred can seduce Cherry in one hundred nights, he can have his castle–and Cherry.
But what Jerome doesn’t know is that Cherry is in love with her maid Hero. The two women hatch a plan: Hero, a member of the League of Secret Story Tellers, will distract Manfred by regaling him with a mesmerizing tale each night for 100 nights, keeping him at bay. Those tales are beautifully depicted here, touching on themes of love and betrayal and loyalty and madness.


As intricate and richly imagined as the works of Chris Ware, and leavened with a dry wit that rivals Kate Beaton’s in Hark A Vagrant, Isabel Greenberg’s One Hundred Nights of Hero will capture readers’ hearts and minds, taking them through a magical medieval world.


Ever wonder what Mean Girls would have been like if Regina George could do magic? If you wish the YA series Sweep had been developed into a TV show, or you spend your weekends making friends at screenings of the Buffy musical episode sing-a-longs, or you’re really sensitive about that pesky human heart that dwells beneath your floorboards, then this novel might be for you.

This fabulously addictive fantasy combines sophisticated and haunting prose with a gut-punching twist that readers will be dying to discuss. Perfect for fans of We Were Liars as well as nostalgic classics like Buffy the Vampire Slayer and the 1996 movie The CraftThe Graces marks the beginning of a new wave of teen witches.


If you’ve read this far into this post, then there’s no doubt, you need this coloring book. Do we really have to explain further?


Patches and iron pins are popping up all over the place these days, both on Instagram and in the real world. We have a wide selection at Booksmith, they make the perfect extra addition to any gift, and some of them are shaped like Spock’s head!


Chocolate bars with a powerful, uplifting message. Anyone can benefit from these, but certainly on Galentines Day, feel free to celebrate femininity it whatever way that might be to you - if it’s soft pinks and florals, that’s great! It could be tie-dye and steel toe boots, that’s also a small and glorious wonder.


Pair your Galentines books with one of these magnetic finger puppets of strong female characters from history. Ask yourself, how can I best keep the spirit of Rosa Parks alive and kicking in 2017? Then stare into her skillfully embroidered eyes and let her legacy guide you.


February is cold! You need to have a warm tootsy, compounded with the added bonus of girl power. Brookline Booksmith is proud to carry a variety of funny and powerful socks that you would be proud to gift to any one of your riot grrl buds, as if to say - I care that you are under-represented under the patriarchy, and I care that your little piggies are toasty, because I’m here for the whole package. Let me lift you up.


Questions about anything you see here? Give us a call at 617.566.6660! Have a Happy Galentines Day, one and all!

Join our mailing list to get b-mail, our weekly newsletter