Shop early this holiday season! ONLINE and BY PHONE, enjoy curbside pickup or shipping. IN PERSON, we are now open 7 days a week, 10am - 8pm.

Learn More

This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity #1)

#1 New York Times Bestseller * An Amazon Best Book of the Year

There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from acclaimed author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake.

The first of two books, This Savage Song is a must-have for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor.

Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music.

When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives.

In This Savage Song, Victoria Schwab creates a gritty, seething metropolis, one worthy of being compared to Gotham and to the four versions of London in her critically acclaimed fantasy for adults, A Darker Shade of Magic. Her heroes will face monsters intent on destroying them from every side—including the monsters within.

The repackaged paperback includes a map of V-City!

Victoria Schwab is the author of the #1 New York Times bestseller This Savage Song and its best-selling sequel, Our Dark Duet. She is also the author of the middle grade trilogy beginning with City of Ghosts. Under the name V. E. Schwab, she has written the best-selling adult fantasy Shades of Magic trilogy and the duology Vicious and Vengeful. When she's not haunting Paris streets or trudging up English hillsides, she lives in Nashville, Tennessee, and is usually tucked in the corner of a coffee shop, dreaming up monsters. www.veschwab.com

ISBN: 9780062983398

ISBN-10: 9780062983398

Publisher: Greenwillow Books

Publication Date: 04/28/2020 - 12:00am

On Sale: 04/28/2020 - 12:00am

Pages: 480

Language: English

Categories

Young Adult Fiction / Fantasy / Dark Fantasy

Young Adult Fiction / Monsters

Young Adult Fiction / Law & Crime

More by Victoria Schwab

  • Pre-Order Now Badge
    Bridge of Souls (City of Ghosts #3) Cover Image
  • Pre-Order Now Badge
    La Vida Invisible de Addie Larue Cover Image
  • La Ciudad de Los Fantasmas Cover Image
  • Conjuro de Luz Cover Image
  • Tunnel of Bones (City of Ghosts #2) Cover Image
  • Our Dark Duet (Monsters of Verity #2) Cover Image
  • This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity #1) Cover Image
  • Everyday Angel: Three Novels Cover Image
  • Tunel de Huesos, El Cover Image