Shop for your loved ones early this holiday season, online or in-store! Learn why.

In celebration of LatinX Heritage Month, our booksellers have curated a beautiful collection to explore in-store and online. Click here to browse online. 

The Stars of Whistling Ridge

The Stars of Whistling Ridge cover

The Stars of Whistling Ridge

$ 16.99
Add to Wish List
On Our Shelves Now

This enchanting story about magic, family, and the meaning of home from the award-winning author of Where the Watermelons Grow is perfect for fans of Corey Ann Haydu and Natalie Lloyd.

Ivy Mae Bloom is almost thirteen years old, her name is almost a complete sentence, and her family’s RV is almost a home. That’s one too many “almosts” for Ivy. She desperately wants a place to put down roots, but it’s her mama’s job as a fallen star to tend the magic underpinning the world—a job that’s kept Ivy’s family living on the road since before Ivy was born.

After Ivy steals Mama's entire supply of wish jars in the hopes of finding a place to call home, disaster strands her family in Whistling Ridge, North Carolina, with Mama's star sisters. Ivy falls for Whistling Ridge immediately—she just needs to convince her parents to stay.

But something is draining the magic from the town, and the star sisters can't pinpoint it. Ivy and her new friends find a clue in Whistling Ridge's history that might explain the mysterious threat...but if Whistling Ridge’s magic is fixed, Mama will need to move on. Ivy is faced with an impossible decision: How can she help the star sisters lift the curse if it means losing her best chance at a forever home?

Cindy Baldwin is a fiction writer, essayist, and poet. She grew up in North Carolina and still misses the sweet watermelons and warm accents on a daily basis. As a middle schooler, she kept a book under her bathroom sink to read over and over while fixing her hair or brushing her teeth, and she dreams of writing the kind of books readers can’t bear to be without. She lives in Portland, Oregon, with her husband and daughter, surrounded by tall trees and wild blackberries. Where the Watermelons Grow is her debut novel and is followed by Beginners Welcome. Learn more about Cindy at www.cindybaldwinbooks.com.

ISBN: 9780063006416

ISBN-10: 9780063006416

Publisher: Quill Tree Books

Publication Date: 06/15/2021 - 12:00am

On Sale: 06/15/2021 - 12:00am

Pages: 400

Language: English

Categories

Juvenile Fiction / Fantasy & Magic

Juvenile Fiction / Social Themes / Adolescence & Coming of Age

Juvenile Fiction / Social Themes / Emotions & Feelings