The Faint of Heart

The Faint of Heart cover

The Faint of Heart

By  Kerilynn Wilson , Illustrated By  Kerilynn Wilson
$ 18.99
Add to Wish List
Out of Stock In Store

“Beautiful, tender, and relevant. Full of mystery, and not surprisingly, full of heart.”—Tillie Walden, award-winning author of Spinning

What would you do if you were the only person left with a heart? The only person left who felt anything at all? Would you give in to the pressure to conform? Or would you protect your heart at all costs? Part Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind and part Severance, this debut teen graphic novel is a vivid and haunting read for fans of Nimona and This One Summer.

Not that long ago, the Scientist discovered that all sadness, anxiety, and anger disappeared when you removed your heart. And that's all it took. Soon enough, the hospital had lines out the door—even though the procedure numbed the good feelings, too. 

Everyone did it. Everyone except high school student June. But now the pressure, loneliness, and heartache are mounting, and it’s becoming harder and harder to be the only one with a heart.

One day, June comes across an abandoned heart in a jar. The heart in the jar intrigues her, it baffles her, and it brings her hope. But the heart also brings her Max, a classmate with a secret of his own.

And it may rip June’s own heart in two.

Part speculative fiction and part cautionary tale, The Faint of Heart is a moving and ethereal debut that questions morality and the feelings that seem too big to contain. 

Kerilynn Wilson is an author/illustrator with a love of the weird and wonderful. She is the creator of the graphic novel for teens The Faint of Heart. She lives in Oregon City, Oregon, but her mind tends to wander to made-up places in her head filled with flying jellyfish and birds that eat the stars. 



Kerilynn Wilson is an author/illustrator with a love of the weird and wonderful. She is the creator of the graphic novel for teens The Faint of Heart. She lives in Oregon City, Oregon, but her mind tends to wander to made-up places in her head filled with flying jellyfish and birds that eat the stars.