The Fire, the Water, and Maudie McGinn

Neurodivergent Maudie is ready to spend an amazing summer with her dad, but will she find the courage to tell him a terrible secret about life with her mom and new stepdad? This contemporary novel is a must-read for fans of Leslie Connor and Ali Standish. A Schneider Family Book Award winner!

Maudie always looks forward to the summers she spends in California with her dad. But this year, she must keep a troubling secret about her home life—one that her mom warned her never to tell. Maudie wants to confide in her dad about her stepdad's anger, but she’s scared.

When a wildfire strikes, Maudie and her dad are forced to evacuate to the beach town where he grew up. It’s another turbulent wave of change. But now, every morning, from their camper, Maudie can see surfers bobbing in the water. She desperately wants to learn, but could she ever be brave enough?

As Maudie navigates unfamiliar waters, she makes friends—and her autism no longer feels like the big deal her mom makes it out to be. But her secret is still threatening to sink her. Will Maudie find the strength to reveal the awful truth—and maybe even find some way to stay with Dad—before summer is over?

Sally J. Pla is the author of three acclaimed novels—The Someday Birds; Stanley Will Probably Be Fine; and The Fire, the Water, and Maudie McGinn—and a picture book, Benji, the Bad Day, and Me. She is an autism/neurodiversity advocate who has worked as a business journalist and in public education. She lives with her family in Southern California, not too far from the ocean. Visit her online at sallyjpla.com.


ISBN: 9780063268791

ISBN-10: 9780063268791

Publisher: Quill Tree Books

Publication Date: 07/11/2023 - 12:00am

On Sale: 07/11/2023 - 12:00am

Pages: 336

Language: English

Categories

Juvenile Fiction / Neurodiversity

Juvenile Fiction / Social Themes / Adolescence & Coming of Age

Juvenile Fiction / Social Themes / Physical & Emotional Abuse

Juvenile Fiction / Sports & Recreation / Water Sports

Juvenile Fiction / Social Themes / Friendship