JOIN US FOR I <3 BOOKSMITH THIS WEDNESDAY, 4/17/24, as almost everything we sell will be 20% off online and in-store!

On Patriots' Day/Marathon Monday (April 15) we will be open from 9AM-6PM. Please note our early closure, and remember that the Boston Marathon runs down Beacon Street when making your travel plans!

Year of the Reaper

Year of the Reaper cover

Year of the Reaper

$ 15.99
Add to Wish List
Likely On Our Shelves

“I love the magic Lucier weaves through this dark yet hopeful tale. I devoured it in one sitting!” —Kristin Cashore, author of the New York Times bestselling Graceling Realm books

"A beautifully crafted novel containing everything I love in an epic fantasy: complex characters and relationships, excellent world building, and a compelling story full of twists and turns." —Juliet Marillier, author of the Blackthorn & Grim and Warrior Bards series

A rich and captivating YA standalone fantasy that's perfect for fans of Brigid Kemmerer, Rachel Hartman, and Naomi Novik, from the writer whose stories have been called “brilliant” (Booklist), “masterful” (Horn Book), and “breathtaking” (School Library Journal). In the aftermath of a devastating plague, a young lord is determined to discover the truth behind a mysterious attempt to assassinate the young queen.

A Sickness to kill them. A Princess to save them. And a Reaper who will stop at nothing to reveal the truth. 

Young Lord Cassia was destined for death, kidnapped and imprisoned by the enemy three years ago. Now he has escaped, the sole survivor of a deadly outbreak that has ravaged the kingdoms of Oliveras and Brisa alike. His survival has won him his freedom, at a cost: Cas is now haunted by the souls of those with unfinished business left in the realm.

When Cas finally returns to his home in the mountains, he arrives just in time to celebrate the king and queen's newborn son. But when an assassin interrupts the festivities, Cas finds himself thrust into the dark underpinnings of court life. Nothing is as he remembers, and his only solace is Lena, a royal historian with a penchant for stealing his horse and keeping him anchored to the present...even as the past rises to the surface.

For the more Cas learns about the new queen-a former princess of Brisa, an old enemy-the more he is certain she harbors secrets. Secrets that threaten the one person Cas holds most dear.

Lucky for him, the past never forgets, and the secrets of the dead aren't always buried with them.

Makiia Lucier grew up on the Pacific Island of Guam and holds degress in journalism and library studies from the University of Oregon and the University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee. She is the author of A Death-Struck Year, Isle of Blood and Stone, and Song of the Abyss.
makiialucier.com
Twitter: @makiialucier

ISBN: 9780063308909

ISBN-10: 9780063308909

Publisher: Clarion Books

Publication Date: 03/26/2024 - 12:00am

On Sale: 03/26/2024 - 12:00am

Pages: 336

Language: English

Categories

Young Adult Fiction / Fantasy / Historical

Young Adult Fiction / Action & Adventure

Young Adult Fiction / Mysteries & Detective Stories

Young Adult Fiction / Health & Daily Living / Diseases, Illnesses & Injuries

Young Adult Fiction / Royalty