Songlight (The Torch Trilogy #1)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Songlight (The Torch Trilogy #1) cover

Songlight (The Torch Trilogy #1)

$ 19.99
Add to Wish List
Pre-Order (Not Yet Published)

Star-crossed lovers, against-all-odds friendship, and a brutally unforgiving world make this first in a trilogy utterly unforgettable.

We’re two songs joined. And there’s a word for that. A harmony.

Elsa is used to hiding the most important parts of herself—her feelings for Rye, her distaste for a world ruled by men, and, most crucially, her gift of songlight. She buries that secret deep inside. In Brightland, those with songlight are called Unhumans and are abhorred. Rye is the only other person Elsa has known with songlight, and their shared bond has brought them together.

Elsa’s world begins to fall apart one desperate, heart-wrenching day and she doesn’t know where to turn until a girl appears before her. But the girl isn’t really there—her songlight has been drawn to Elsa’s frantic grief.

Elsa lives in a remote seaside village; Nightingale, her new friend, lives in a city hundreds of miles away with her father, a government official responsible for rooting out Unhumans. The two never expected to connect via songlight. But when they do, and when they realize the extent of their power, they’ll be thrust in the middle of a war that threatens their very existence.

From an award-winning screenwriter making her novel debut comes this powerful, page-turning trilogy perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir and Adrienne Young.

Moira Buffini is an Olivier Award–winning UK playwright and BAFTA-nominated screenwriter, writing many plays for the National Theatre and the West End. Films include Tamara Drewe, Jane Eyre, Byzantium, and The Dig. She cocreated and was showrunner of Hulu's Harlots. Songlight is her first novel. She lives in London.

ISBN: 9780063358218

ISBN-10: 9780063358218

Publisher: HarperCollins

Publication Date: 09/03/2024 - 12:00am

On Sale: 09/03/2024 - 12:00am

Pages: 384

Language: English

Categories

Young Adult Fiction / Dystopian

Young Adult Fiction / Science Fiction / Romance

Young Adult Fiction / Action & Adventure

Young Adult Fiction / Social Themes / Assimilation

Young Adult Fiction / Social Themes / Values & Virtues