Enjoy our expansion this holiday season! More wonderful books and gifts. More space to shop.

More booksmith. More award-winning giftsmith. Learn more  


Monday 9am-9pm, Tuesday thru Thursday 9am-9:30pm, Friday & Saturday 9am-10:30pm, Sunday 10am-9pm

Devil-Land: England Under Siege, 1588-1688

Pre-Order Now Badge
Devil-Land: England Under Siege, 1588-1688 cover

Devil-Land: England Under Siege, 1588-1688

$ 34.95
Add to Wish List
Pre-Order (Not Yet Published)

Among foreign observers, seventeenth-century England was known as Devil-Land: A Diabolical Country of Fallen Angels, torn apart by seditious rebellion, religious extremism and royal collapse. Clare Jackson's dazzling, original account of English history's most turbulent and radical era tells the story of a nation in a state of near continual crisis.

As an unmarried heretic with no heir, Elizabeth I was regarded with horror by Catholic Europe, while her Stuart successors, James I and Charles I, were seen as impecunious and incompetent, unable to manage their three kingdoms of England, Scotland and Ireland. The traumatic civil wars, regicide and a republican Commonwealth were followed by the floundering, foreign-leaning rule of Charles II and his brother, James II, before William of Orange invaded England with a Dutch army and a new order was imposed.

Devil-Land reveals England as, in many ways, a 'failed state': endemically unstable and rocked by devastating events from the Gunpowder Plot to the Great Fire of London. Catastrophe nevertheless bred creativity, and Jackson makes brilliant use of eyewitness accounts - many penned by stupefied foreigners - to dramatize her great story. Starting on the eve of the Spanish Armada's descent in 1588 and concluding with a not-so 'Glorious Revolution' a hundred years later, Devil-Land is a spectacular reinterpretation of England's vexed and enthralling past.

Clare Jackson is the Senior Tutor of Trinity Hall, Cambridge University. She has presented a number of highly successful programs on the Stuart dynasty for the BBC and is the author of Charles II in the Penguin Monarchs series.

ISBN: 9780141984575

ISBN-10: 9780141984575

Publisher: Penguin

Publication Date: 01/01/2023 - 12:00am

On Sale: 01/01/2023 - 12:00am

Pages: 400

Language: English


History / Europe / Great Britain / Stuart Era (1603-1714)

History / Modern / 17th Century