JOIN US FOR I <3 BOOKSMITH THIS WEDNESDAY, 4/17/24, as almost everything we sell will be 20% off online and in-store!

On Patriots' Day/Marathon Monday (April 15) we will be open from 9AM-6PM. Please note our early closure, and remember that the Boston Marathon runs down Beacon Street when making your travel plans!

As Long as the Lemon Trees Grow

As Long as the Lemon Trees Grow cover

As Long as the Lemon Trees Grow

$ 11.99
Add to Wish List
Likely On Our Shelves

A love letter to Syria and its people, As Long as the Lemon Trees Grow is a speculative novel set amid the Syrian Revolution, burning with the fires of hope, love, and possibility. Perfect for fans of The Book Thief and Salt to the Sea.

Salama Kassab was a pharmacy student when the cries for freedom broke out in Syria. She still had her parents and her big brother; she still had her home. She had a normal teenager’s life. 
 
Now Salama volunteers at a hospital in Homs, helping the wounded who flood through the doors daily. Secretly, though, she is desperate to find a way out of her beloved country before her sister-in-law, Layla, gives birth. So desperate, that she has manifested a physical embodiment of her fear in the form of her imagined companion, Khawf, who haunts her every move in an effort to keep her safe. 
 
But even with Khawf pressing her to leave, Salama is torn between her loyalty to her country and her conviction to survive. Salama must contend with bullets and bombs, military assaults, and her shifting sense of morality before she might finally breathe free. And when she crosses paths with the boy she was supposed to meet one fateful day, she starts to doubt her resolve in leaving home at all.  
 
Soon, Salama must learn to see the events around her for what they truly are—not a war, but a revolution—and decide how she, too, will cry for Syria’s freedom.

Zoulfa Katouh is a Canadian with Syrian roots based in Switzerland. She is currently pursuing her master's in Drug Sciences and finds Studio Ghibli inspiration in the mountains, lakes, and stars surrounding her. When she’s not talking to herself in the woodland forest, she’s drinking iced coffee, baking aesthetic cookies and cakes, and telling everyone who would listen about how BTS paved the way. A dream of hers is to get Kim Nam-joon to read one of her books. As Long As the Lemon Trees Grow is her debut novel. She invites you to visit her online zoulfakatouh.com.

ISBN: 9780316351485

ISBN-10: 9780316351485

Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Publication Date: 03/26/2024 - 12:00am

On Sale: 03/26/2024 - 12:00am

Pages: 464

Language: English

Categories

Young Adult Fiction / Romance / Contemporary

Young Adult Fiction / Social Themes / Emigration & Immigration

Young Adult Fiction / War & Military

Young Adult Fiction / People & Places / United States / Middle Eastern & Arab American