Opened Ground: Selected Poems, 1966-1996

Opened Ground: Selected Poems, 1966-1996 cover

Opened Ground: Selected Poems, 1966-1996

$ 22.00
Add to Wish List
Likely On Our Shelves

As selected by the author, Opened Ground includes the essential work from Heaney's twelve previous books of poetry, as well as new sequences drawn from two of his landmark translations, The Cure at Troy and Sweeney Astray, and several previously uncollected poems. Heaney's voice is like no other--"by turns mythological and journalistic, rural and sophisticated, reminiscent and impatient, stern and yielding, curt and expansive" (Helen Vendler, The New Yorker)--and this is a one-volume testament to the musicality and precision of that voice. The book closes with Heaney's Nobel Lecture: "Crediting Poetry."

Seamus Heaney (1939-2013) received the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1995. His poems, plays, translations, and essays include Opened Ground, Electric Light, Beowulf, The Spirit Level, District and Circle, and Finders Keepers. Robert Lowell praised Heaney as the "most important Irish poet since Yeats."

ISBN: 9780374526788

ISBN-10: 9780374526788

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Publication Date: 10/25/1999 - 12:00am

On Sale: 10/25/1999 - 12:00am

Pages: 464

Language: English


Poetry / European / English, Irish, Scottish, Welsh

Poetry / European

Poetry / European / French

Poetry / Women Authors

Literary Criticism / Poetry