History Smashers: The Titanic

History Smashers: The Titanic cover

History Smashers: The Titanic

By  Kate Messner , Illustrated By  Matt Aytch Taylor
$ 8.99
Add to Wish List
Out of Stock In Store

Myths! Lies! Secrets! Uncover the hidden truth behind the sinking of the Titanic with beloved educator/author Kate Messner. The fun mix of sidebars, illustrations, photos, and graphic panels make this perfect for fans of I Survived! and Nathan Hale's Hazardous Tales.

On April 15, 1912 an "unsinkable" ship called the Titanic unexpectedly hit an iceberg and sank to the bottom of the North Atlantic. Right?

Wrong! Nobody was really talking about the Titanic being unsinkable until after it sank.

The truth is, four different ships wired the Titanic to report icebergs and field ice in the area. But the Titanic never slowed down. In fact, when the Californian warned that it was trapped in ice, the Titanic's wireless operator was so busy sending outgoing messages that he replied, "Shut up!" No joke.

Discover the nonfiction series that demolishes everything you thought you knew about history.

Don't miss History Smashers: The Mayflower, Women's Right to Vote, and Pearl Harbor.

KATE MESSNER is passionately curious and writes books that encourage kids to wonder, too. Her titles include award-winning picture books, like Over and Under the Snow; novels, like Breakout and Chirp; the Fergus and Zeke easy reader series, and the popular Ranger in Time chapter books, and works of nonfiction with a focus on nature and history. Before becoming a full time writer, Kate was a TV journalist and National Board certified middle school English teacher. She lives on Lake Champlain with her family and is trying to summit all 46 Adirondack High Peaks in between book deadlines. Visit katemessner.com and Facebook: Kate Messner for more information and follow her on Twitter @katemessner.

ISBN: 9780593120439

ISBN-10: 9780593120439

Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers

Publication Date: 04/06/2021 - 12:00am

On Sale: 04/06/2021 - 12:00am

Pages: 224

Language: English

Categories

Juvenile Nonfiction / History / Modern

Juvenile Nonfiction / Transportation / Boats, Ships & Underwater Craft

Juvenile Nonfiction / History