We are OPEN on Memorial Day (5/27) but will CLOSE EARLY at 7PM. We hope to see you then!

Kappa (Peter Owen Modern Classic)

Kappa (Peter Owen Modern Classic) cover

Kappa (Peter Owen Modern Classic)

By  Ryunosuke Akutagawa , Translated by  Geoffrey Bownas
$ 15.95
Unavailable

The Kappa is a creature from Japanese folklore described as a scaly, child-sized being with a face like a tiger and a sharp, pointed beak. In the hands of Ryunosuke Akutagawa, one man's journey to Kappaland becomes the vehicle for a critique of Japanese life and customs in the tradition of Swift and Kafka. A perfectly formed gem from the pen of one of Japan's most important modern writers, this tale is at once a fable, a comedy, and a brilliant satire.

Ryunosuke Akutagawa was the author of more than 100 short stories as well as translations of the works of Anatole France and Yeats. Akutagawa was regarded as a major author during his lifetime, and the Akutagawa Prize, established after his death, is now one of Japan’s most prestigious literary awards. Two of the stories from his collection Rashomon formed the basis of the award-winning film of the same title by Akira Kurosawa.

ISBN: 9780720613377

ISBN-10: 9780720613377

Publisher: Peter Owen Publishers

Publication Date: 09/01/2009 - 12:00am

On Sale: 09/01/2009 - 12:00am

Pages: 188

Language: English

Categories

Fiction / Fairy Tales, Folk Tales, Legends & Mythology

Fiction / Satire

Fiction / Classics

Fiction / Cultural Heritage