The Alchemist (Chartwell Classics)

Complete and unabridged, with an introduction by Felix E. Schelling and a new timeline of the life and times of Ben Jonson, this elegantly designed, jacketed hardcover edition of The Alchemist is an essential collectible.

First performed in 1610, The Alchemist was part of a quartet of comedies known for their wit, brilliant dialogue, and shrewd caricatures. Thought to be Jonson’s best comedy, The Alchemist follows the satirical trail of deception when the gentleman Lovewit leaves his London home due to the plague, leaving behind his servant, Face, who endeavors to dupe all manner of folks—and relieve them of their funds—with the aid of fellow con artists. What ensues is a brilliant depiction of human folly.

Essential volumes for the shelves of every classic literature lover, the Chartwell Classics series includes beautifully presented works and collections from some of the most important authors in literary history. Chartwell Classics are the editions of choice for the most discerning literature buffs.

Other titles in the Chartwell Classics Series include:The Essential Tales & Poems of Edgar Allen Poe; The Essential Tales of H.P. Lovecraft; The Federalist Papers; The Inferno; The Call of the Wild and White Fang; Moby Dick; The Odyssey; Pride and Prejudice; Grimm’s Fairy Tales; Emma; The Great Gatsby; The Secret Garden; Anne of Green Gables; The Phantom of the Opera; The Communist Manifesto and Das Kapital; The Republic; Frankenstein; Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea; The Picture of Dorian Gray; Meditations; Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking-Glass; A Tales of Two Cities; Beowulf; The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde; Adventures of Huckleberry Finn; Little Women; Wuthering Heights; Peter Pan; Persuasion; Aesop’s Fables; The Constitution of the United States and Selected Writings; Crime and Punishment; Dracula; Great Expectations; The Iliad; Irish and Fairy Folk Tales; The Legend of Sleepy Hollow; The War of the Worlds; and The Time Machine and The Invisible Man.

Ben Jonson (1572 or 1573–1637) was born in London. A prolific poet, playwright, and contemporary of William Shakespeare, many of Jonson’s plays were performed by the Lord Chamberlain’s Men company. Married to Anne Lewis in 1594, the couple enjoyed some influence in London and Edinburgh, Scotland. In 1616, Jonson collected his entire works for publication in a single volume—something that had never been done before—and was made poet laureate that same year, for which he was given a pension by King James I.

ISBN: 9780785841722

ISBN-10: 9780785841722

Publisher: Chartwell Books

Publication Date: 11/01/2022 - 12:00am

On Sale: 11/01/2022 - 12:00am

Pages: 248

Language: English


Drama / Shakespeare

Drama / European / English, Irish, Scottish, Welsh