Ivy and Bean 1 (Ivy & Bean)

A Netflix Original Film Series
A New York Times Bestselling Series
Over 8 Million Copies Sold

The original book in the bestselling series, Ivy and Bean: Book 1 introduces Ivy and Bean, two spunky friends who never meant to like each other.



Meet Ivy & Bean. Bean has lots of friends, loves stomping in puddles and hates being bored. Ivy has just moved in next door. Ivy seems nice, wears dresses and sparkly headbands—which makes Bean think she's too boring to be friends with. But after Ivy comes to Bean's rescue, they become the best of friends and begin a series of silly, sneaky, imaginative, sometimes naughty, and always hilarious adventures.

From beloved children's book author Annie Barrows, the Ivy and Bean collection has been delighting preschool, kindergarten, elementary, and kids of all ages for nearly two decades. Centered upon messages promoting friendship, empathy, and understanding, this a charming and addictive introduction to the Ivy and Bean chapter book series filled with vibrant characters and lots of humor.

HEARTWARMING STORYOF FRIENDSHIP: This charming book follows Ivy and Bean as they get themselves into trouble . . . and then help each other out of it as only true friends can. Young girls will love reading about Ivy and Bean’s many adventures and learning about the magic of friendship in this laugh-out-loud funny book series.

CRITICS & READERS LOVE THE IVY AND BEAN SERIES:
"One of the funniest young chapter book series around."—The Horn Book
"A lively, entertaining read with heart"—Common Sense Media
"Only a stooge couldn’t love Ivy and Bean."—Kirkus Reviews
"I read ALL of the books in this series when I was in elementary school (I am 17 now) and I absolutely LOVED them. This series truly taught me the joy in reading and creativity, as well as real social dynamics you see in everyday life."—Reader
"This is the ONLY chapter book series that my daughter has fallen for and will re-read on her own."—Parent
 
BESTSELLING AUTHOR-ILLUSTRATOR TEAM: Annie Barrows is the author of numerous bestselling books for children and adults, including the Ivy and Bean series which has sold over 8 million copies and garnered multiple starred reviews and Best Book designations. Sophie Blackall is an award-winning illustrator of over 50 books for children, including the New York Times bestselling Ivy and Bean series, the 2016 Caldecott Medal winner Finding Winnie, and the 2019 Caldecott Medal winner Hello Lighthouse, which she also wrote. She is also a four-time recipient of The New York Times Best Illustrated Picture Book Award.

Perfect for:
  • Readers who loved Junie B. Jones, Magic Tree House books, and Princess in Black
  • Gift-givers looking for entertaining chapter book sets for kids who enjoy stories full of humor and wit
  • Fans of classic children’s literature, from books by Beverly Cleary to the Harry Potter series

Annie Barrows has written many books for adults, but Ivy and Bean is her first series for children. She lives in northern California with her husband and two daughters.

Sophie Blackall is an Australian illustrator whose books include Ruby's Wish and Meet Wild Boars. She lives in Brooklyn, New York.

ISBN: 9780811849098

ISBN-10: 9780811849098

Publisher: Chronicle Books

Publication Date: 04/19/2007 - 12:00am

On Sale: 04/19/2007 - 12:00am

Pages: 120

Language: English

Categories

Juvenile Fiction / Social Themes / Friendship

Juvenile Fiction / Readers / Chapter Books