We are OPEN on Memorial Day (5/27) but will CLOSE EARLY at 7PM. We hope to see you then!

Winterhouse

Winterhouse cover

Winterhouse

By  Ben Guterson , Illustrated By  Chloe Bristol
$ 9.99
Add to Wish List
Out of Stock In Store

An Edgar Award Finalist
An Agatha Award Finalist

An enchanting urban fantasy middle-grade debut—the first book in a trilogy—set in a magical hotel full of secrets.


Orphan Elizabeth Somers’s malevolent aunt and uncle ship her off to the ominous Winterhouse Hotel, owned by the peculiar Norbridge Falls. Upon arrival, Elizabeth quickly discovers that Winterhouse has many charms—most notably its massive library. It’s not long before she locates a magical book of puzzles that will unlock a mystery involving Norbridge and his sinister family. But the deeper she delves into the hotel’s secrets, the more Elizabeth starts to realize that she is somehow connected to Winterhouse. As fate would have it, Elizabeth is the only person who can break the hotel’s curse and solve the mystery. But will it be at the cost of losing the people she has come to care for, and even Winterhouse itself?

Mystery, adventure, and beautiful writing combine in this exciting debut richly set in a hotel full of secrets.

Christy Ottaviano Books

Praise for Winterhouse:
An Indie Next List Pick

“Clever and captivating.” —Kirkus Reviews

"A charming, atmospheric mystery with some fantasy elements, for fans of Kate Milford’s Greenglass House and Trenton Lee Stewart’s The Mysterious Benedict Society. . . . Bristol’s art is whimsical and enhances the spirit of the story." —School Library Journal

Ben Guterson was born and raised in Seattle. Before working at Microsoft as a Program Manager, Ben spent a decade teaching public school on the Navajo Reservation in New Mexico and in rural Colorado. He has written features and book reviews for newspapers, magazines, and websites, as well as a nature-travel guide to the Southwest. Ben and his family live in the foothills of the Cascades east of Seattle. Winterhouse is his first book.

Chloe Bristol is an animation artist whose work has been featured on Disney Junior and Cartoon Network, among others. She is also the illustrator of the popular Winterhouse series by Ben Guterson. She lives in Southern California.

ISBN: 9781250294197

ISBN-10: 9781250294197

Publisher: Square Fish

Publication Date: 10/30/2018 - 12:00am

On Sale: 10/30/2018 - 12:00am

Pages: 400

Language: English

Categories

Juvenile Fiction / Family / Orphans & Foster Homes

Juvenile Fiction / Fantasy & Magic

Juvenile Fiction / Action & Adventure

Juvenile Fiction / Family / Siblings