Enjoy our expansion this holiday season! More wonderful books and gifts. More space to shop.

More booksmith. More award-winning giftsmith. Learn more  

HOURS UPDATE

Monday 9am-9pm, Tuesday thru Thursday 9am-9:30pm, Friday & Saturday 9am-10:30pm, Sunday 10am-9pm

The Tryout: A Graphic Novel

The Tryout: A Graphic Novel cover

The Tryout: A Graphic Novel

By  Christina Soontornvat , Illustrated By  Joanna Cacao
$ 12.99
Add to Wish List
Likely On Our Shelves

STAND TALL.

BE LOUD.

GAME FACE ON.

This pitch perfect graphic memoir about courage and competition, friendship and belonging is perfect for fans of Smile, New Kid, Rollergirl, and Real Friends.

“A captivating middle-grade gem.” — The New York Times Book Review

★ “Funny, relatable, and genuine.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

★ “Captures every nuanced emotion.” — School Library Journal, starred review

★ “Genuinely nail-biting.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

★ “Cringe-worthy in the best possible way…inspiring and insightful.” — Shelf Awareness, starred review

“Delightfully expressive…a standout.” — Booklist

When cheerleading tryouts are announced, Christina and her best friend, Megan, literally jump at the chance to join the squad. As two of the only kids of color in the school, they have always yearned to fit in—and the middle school cheerleaders are popular and accepted by everyone. But will the girls survive the terrifying tryouts, with their whole grade watching? And will their friendship withstand the pressures of competition?

Hilarious and highly relatable, The Tryout by two-time Newbery Honoree Christina Soontornvat and shining new talent Joanna Cacao will make you laugh, cry, and cheer!

Christina Soontornvat is the author of the Newbery Honor books A Wish in the Dark and All Thirteen, which also won the Kirkus Prize and a Sibert Honor distinction. She is also the author of Scholastic’s beloved fantasy series Diary of an Ice Princess and several picture books including To Change a Planet illustrated by Rahele Jomepour Bell, which received a starred review in Kirkus. Christina holds a B.S. in Mechanical Engineering and a master’s degree in Science Education. She spent a decade working in the science museum field, where she designed programs and exhibits to get kids excited about science and STEM. Christina lives in Austin, Texas, with her husband, two young children, and one old cat. You can learn more about her work at soontornvat.com.
Joanna Cacao is a Canadian-Filipino artist and illustrator who lives in Winnipeg with her Pomeranian, Danny. She loves working on magical and fantastical stories. Growing up in front of a TV, Joanna immediately became obsessed with any show or film that had a great story and set of characters. Her favorite shows consist of Avatar: The Last Airbender, Downton Abbey, and Gravity Falls. Her biggest influences come from various manga, as well as Ghibli and Disney films. She has a background in 3D Animation, and has self-published a queer webcomic: Toxic For You.

ISBN: 9781338741261

ISBN-10: 9781338741261

Publisher: Graphix

Publication Date: 09/06/2022 - 12:00am

On Sale: 09/06/2022 - 12:00am

Pages: 272

Language: English

Categories

Juvenile Nonfiction / Comics & Graphic Novels

Juvenile Nonfiction / Social Topics / Friendship

Juvenile Nonfiction / Social Topics / Prejudice & Racism

Juvenile Nonfiction / Sports & Recreation / Cheerleading