JOIN US FOR I <3 BOOKSMITH THIS WEDNESDAY, 4/17/24, as almost everything we sell will be 20% off online and in-store!

On Patriots' Day/Marathon Monday (April 15) we will be open from 9AM-6PM. Please note our early closure, and remember that the Boston Marathon runs down Beacon Street when making your travel plans!

Stars in Their Eyes: A Graphic Novel

Stars in Their Eyes: A Graphic Novel cover

Stars in Their Eyes: A Graphic Novel

Created by  Jessica Walton , Aska
$ 24.99
Add to Wish List
Out of Stock In Store

A Stonewall Honor Book

In this lighthearted YA romance, Maisie and Ollie discover that nothing beats the feeling of falling in love for the first time.

Maisie is on her way to Fancon! She's looking forward to meeting her idol, Kara Bufano, the action hero from her favorite TV show, who has a lower-leg amputation, just like Maisie. But when Maisie and her mom arrive at the convention center, she is stopped in her tracks by Ollie, a cute volunteer working the show. They are kind, charming, and geek out about nerd culture just as much as Maisie does. And as the day wears on, Maisie notices feelings for Ollie that she's never had before. Is this what it feels like to fall in love?

Perfect for fans of Heartstopper and Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up with Me, this graphic novel debut is a fresh, one-of-a-kind story that celebrates the excitement of meeting someone special for the first time.

Jessica Walton is a queer, disabled writer and speaker. They co-wrote an episode of Australian comedy series Get Krack!n that focused on disability, and they are also the author of Introducing Teddy, a picture book illustrated by Dougal MacPherson. Jess's short stories have been published in Australian anthologies Funny Bones and Meet Me at the Intersection, and their poetry can be found in Growing Up Disabled in Australia and The (Other) F Word: a Celebration of the Fat and Fierce. To learn more about Jess, visit them at jessicawalton.com.au.

Aśka is creative dynamite. She's an award-winning artist and graphic novelist, an ex-quantum physicist, and a big fan of the little doohickey above the s in her name (which is pronounced "Ash-ka"). A hugely engaging and popular presenter, Aśka is passionate about visual literacy and has published more than ten books and graphic novels. When she's not creating children's books, Aśka is traveling across Western Australia as a roving science communicator. Sometimes, she sleeps. For more on Aśka's passions, projects, and art, check out askastorytelling.com.

ISBN: 9781338818802

ISBN-10: 9781338818802

Publisher: Graphix

Publication Date: 08/01/2023 - 12:00am

On Sale: 08/01/2023 - 12:00am

Pages: 224

Language: English

Categories

Young Adult Fiction / Comics & Graphic Novels / Romance

Young Adult Fiction / Comics & Graphic Novels / LGBTQ+

Young Adult Fiction / Comics & Graphic Novels / Coming of Age