Shop for your loved ones early this holiday season, online or in-store! Learn why.

The Night Diary

Staff Pick Badge
The Night Diary cover

The Night Diary

$ 20.99
Unavailable Online - Please Call 617-566-6660 For More Information

"A 2019 NEWBERY HONOR BOOK

*A Walter Dean Myers Honor Winner *An ALA Notable Book *A Malka Penn Award Recipient *A New York Times Editor's Choice Pick *A Junior Library Guild Selection *Named a Best Book of the Year by Amazon, Kirkus Reviews, The New York Times, NPR, School Library Journal, and The Washington Post.

""A gripping, nuanced story of the human cost of conflict appropriate for both children and adults.""

-Kirkus, starred review


In the vein of Inside Out and Back Again and The War That Saved My Life comes a poignant, personal, and hopeful tale of India's partition, and of one girl's journey to find a new home in a divided country


It's 1947, and India, newly independent of British rule, has been separated into two countries: Pakistan and India. The divide has created much tension between Hindus and Muslims, and hundreds of thousands are killed crossing borders.


Half-Muslim, half-Hindu twelve-year-old Nisha doesn't know where she belongs, or what her country is anymore. When Papa decides it's too dangerous to stay in what is now Pakistan, Nisha and her family become refugees and embark first by train but later on foot to reach her new home. The journey is long, difficult, and dangerous, and after losing her mother as a baby, Nisha can't imagine losing her homeland, too. But even if her country has been ripped apart, Nisha still believes in the possibility of putting herself back together.


Told through Nisha's letters to her mother, The Night Diary is a heartfelt story of one girl's search for home, for her own identity...and for a hopeful future. "

by Alex

Thu, 04/22/2021 - 12:33pm

If you love The War That Saved My Life but are a little done with historical fiction that all takes place in England, Germany, or the US - this is the story of a girl who's both Hindi and Muslim, who wakes up one day to discover that she no longer lives in India, but Pakistan - and that now her family has to leave.

ISBN: 9781432866600

ISBN-10: 9781432866600

Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print

Publication Date: 06/12/2019 - 12:00am

On Sale: 05/22/2019 - 12:00am

Pages: 294

Language: English

Categories

Social Themes - Emigration & Immigration

Historical - Asia

Family - Siblings