Shop for your loved ones early this holiday season, online or in-store! Learn why.

House on Endless Waters

House on Endless Waters cover

House on Endless Waters

By  Emuna Elon
$ 31.99
Unavailable Online - Please Call 617-566-6660 For More Information

"Emuna Elon's powerful House on Endless Waters is essential Jewish fiction...a deeply immersive achievement that brings to life stories that must never be forgotten." --USA TODAY

"Extraordinary--a vibrant, page-turning family." --Jennifer Cody Epstein, bestselling author of Wunderland

"A story of love, loss, and yearning. Lyrically phrased and often powerfully visual...this deeply felt tale offers a rewarding meditation on survival." --Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

In the tradition of The Invisible Bridge and The History of Love, comes an exquisitely moving novel about a writer who discovers the truth about his mother's wartime years in Amsterdam, unearthing a shocking family secret that becomes the subject of his magnum opus.

At the behest of his agent, renowned author Yoel Blum reluctantly agrees to visit his birthplace of Amsterdam to promote his books, despite promising his late mother that he would never return to that city. While touring the Jewish Historical Museum with his wife, Yoel stumbles upon footage portraying prewar Dutch Jewry and is astonished to see the youthful face of his beloved mother staring back at him, posing with his father, his older sister...and an infant he doesn't recognize.

This unsettling discovery launches him into a fervent search for the truth, shining a light on Amsterdam's dark wartime history--the underground networks that hid Jewish children away from danger and those who betrayed their own for the sake of survival. The deeper into the past Yoel digs to tell the story of his life, the better he understands his mother's silence, and the more urgent the question that has unconsciously haunted him for a lifetime--Who am I?--becomes.

Part family mystery, part wartime drama, House on Endless Waters is an unforgettable meditation on identity, belonging, and the inextricable nature of past and present.

ISBN: 9781432879020

ISBN-10: 9781432879020

Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print

Publication Date: 01/27/2021 - 12:00am

On Sale: 06/10/2020 - 12:00am

Pages: 566

Language: English

Categories

Historical - World War II

Literary

Jewish