The Second Sight of Zachary Cloudesley

The Second Sight of Zachary Cloudesley cover

The Second Sight of Zachary Cloudesley

By  Sean Lusk
$ 17.99
Add to Wish List
Out of Stock In Store

The Second Sight of Zachary Cloudesley is a sparkling historical novel of wild and wonderful mechanical automata, love in a variety of forms, and gentle themes of identity, with a cast of fabulous characters.

In 1755, Abel Cloudesley, a London watchmaker and creator of remarkable mechanical automata, is mourning his wife, Alice, who died giving birth to their son, Zachary. Six years later, Abel is further devastated when a freak workshop accident takes Zachary's eye. With his new eye made of gold and lapis by Abel's soft-spoken apprentice Tom, Zachary, now with an astonishing gift of second sight, is sent to live with his eccentric Aunt Franny in the country. Abel buries himself in work until he is coerced by shadowy figures into designing a chess-playing automaton and delivering it to Constantinople to spy on the Sultan of the Ottoman Empire. After meeting the Sultan, Abel is not heard from again. Years later, teenage Zachary receives a letter suggesting that his father is still alive, a prisoner of the Sultan. Zachary sets off on a perilous journey to the Levant, determined to find Abel and bring him safely home.

A BBC Between the Covers Book Club pick and London Sunday Times Historical Fiction Book of the Month, for fans of Pandora, The Essex Serpent, and The Night Circus.

Longlisted for the Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction 2023 and the Goldsboro Books Glass Bell Award 2023.

Sean Lusk is an award-winning short-story writer, and winner of the Manchester Fiction Prize and the Fish Short Story Prize. He has lived in Greece, Pakistan, and Egypt, variously working as a gardener, speech writer, and diplomatic official. He now lives in the Scottish Highlands. The Second Sight of Zachary Cloudesley is his first novel.

ISBN: 9781454950431

ISBN-10: 9781454950431

Publisher: Union Square & Co.

Publication Date: 12/05/2023 - 12:00am

On Sale: 12/05/2023 - 12:00am

Pages: 368

Language: English

Categories

Magical Realism

Historical - General

Action & Adventure