Shop for your loved ones early this holiday season, online or in-store! Learn why.

In celebration of LatinX Heritage Month, our booksellers have curated a beautiful collection to explore in-store and online. Click here to browse online. 

The Year 1000: When Explorers Connected the World—and Globalization Began

The Year 1000: When Explorers Connected the World—and Globalization Began cover

The Year 1000: When Explorers Connected the World—and Globalization Began

$ 19.00
Add to Wish List
Out of Stock In Store (Click to Order)

*A New York Times Book Review Editors’ Choice*

From celebrated Yale professor Valerie Hansen, a “vivid” and “astonishingly comprehensive account [that] casts world history in a brilliant new light” (Publishers Weekly, starred review) and shows how bold explorations and daring trade missions first connected all of the world’s societies at the end of the first millennium.

People often believe that the years immediately prior to AD 1000 were, with just a few exceptions, lacking in any major cultural developments or geopolitical encounters, that the Europeans hadn’t yet reached North America, and that the farthest feat of sea travel was the Vikings’ invasion of Britain. But how, then, to explain the presence of blond-haired people in Maya temple murals at Chichén Itzá, Mexico? Could it be possible that the Vikings had found their way to the Americas during the height of the Maya empire?

Valerie Hansen, an award-winning historian, argues that the year 1000 was the world’s first point of major cultural exchange and exploration. Drawing on nearly thirty years of research, she presents a compelling account of first encounters between disparate societies, which sparked conflict and collaboration eerily reminiscent of our contemporary moment.

For readers of Jared Diamond’s Guns, Germs, and Steel and Yuval Noah Harari’s Sapiens, The Year 1000 is a “fascinating…highly impressive, deeply researched, lively and imaginative work” (The New York Times Book Review) that will make you rethink everything you thought you knew about how the modern world came to be.

Valerie Hansen is the Stanley Woodward Professor of History at Yale University, where she teaches Chinese and world history.  An accomplished scholar and author, she traveled to nearly twenty countries to conduct research for The Year 1000. She is also the author of The Silk Road: A New History and The Open Empire.

ISBN: 9781501194115

ISBN-10: 9781501194115

Publisher: Scribner

Publication Date: 04/20/2021 - 12:00am

On Sale: 04/20/2021 - 12:00am

Pages: 320

Language: English

Categories

History / Civilization

History / World

History / Expeditions & Discoveries