Shop for your loved ones early this holiday season, online or in-store! Learn why.

We have resumed regular hours in our physical store.

Due to a construction mishap in an adjacent property, we still have no power in our cookbook section and some of the gift area, so these remain temporarily closed.

New Girl in Little Cove

New Girl in Little Cove cover

New Girl in Little Cove

$ 16.99
Add to Wish List
Out of Stock In Store (Click to Order)

"Fans of Richard Russo's That Old Cape Magic, Emily St. John Mandel's The Glass Hotel, and Patricia Harman's The Runaway Midwife will enjoy Rachel's fish-out-of-water journey to acceptance and understanding." --Booklist

"If you loved Come From Away, don't miss this charming debut novel."
--Kate Hilton, bestselling author of Better Luck Next Time

After the local French teacher scandalizes the fishing village of Little Cove, Newfoundland, by running off with a priest, the school looks to the mainland to fill the job quickly. They want someone who can uphold their Catholic values and keep a motley group of largely unwilling students in line.

The position is filled by mainlander Rachel O'Brien--technically a Catholic (baptized ), technically a teacher (honors degree )--who's desperate to leave her current mess of a life behind. She isn't surprised that her students don't see the value of learning French. But she is surprised that she can barely understand their English... Is it a compliment or insult to be called a sleeveen? (Insult.) And the anonymous notes left on her car, telling her to go home, certainly don't help to make her feel welcome.

Still, she is quickly drawn into the island's traditional music and culture, and into the personal lives of her crusty but softhearted landlady, Lucille, her reluctant students and her fellow teacher Doug Bishop. But when her beliefs clash with church and community, she makes a decision that throws her career into jeopardy. In trying to help a student, has she gone too far?

Full of warmth, humor, romance and the quirkiest community of characters... Get ready to be charmed by this impossibly delightful debut, perfect for fans of Kristan Higgins and Susan Elizabeth Phillips.

ISBN: 9781525811500

ISBN-10: 9781525811500

Publisher: Graydon House

Publication Date: 05/11/2021 - 12:00am

On Sale: 05/11/2021 - 12:00am

Pages: 336

Language: English

Categories

Small Town & Rural

Cultural Heritage

Women