On Sunday, February 5th we will be closing at 5:00PM for a private event. We will reopen at 9:00AM on Monday the 6th.

Edge of the Grave (Jimmy Dreghorn series #1)

Edge of the Grave (Jimmy Dreghorn series #1) cover

Edge of the Grave (Jimmy Dreghorn series #1)

$ 15.95
Add to Wish List
Out of Stock In Store

Winner of The Bloody Scotland Debut of the Year 2021

Shortlisted for the McIlvanney Prize for Scottish Crime Book of the Year 2021

'Peaky Blinders meets William McIlvanney in this rollocking riveting read' ADRIAN MCKINTY, bestselling author of The Chain


'A mesmerizing debut. Early gangland Glasgow with the gloss razored off' PETER JAMES

'A magnificent and enthralling portrait of a dark and dangerous city . . . Chilling and brutal, but also deeply moving and, most importantly, beautifully written' MARK BILLINGHAM


Glasgow, 1932. When the son-in-law of one of the city’s wealthiest shipbuilders is found floating in the River Clyde with his throat cut, it falls to Inspector Jimmy Dreghorn to lead the murder case – despite sharing a troubled history with the victim’s widow, Isla Lockhart.

From the flying fists and flashing blades of Glasgow’s gangland underworld, to the backstabbing upper echelons of government and big business, Dreghorn and his partner ‘Bonnie’ Archie McDaid will have to dig deep into Glasgow society to find out who wanted the man dead and why.

All the while, a sadistic murderer stalks the post-war city leaving a trail of dead bodies in their wake. As the case deepens, will Dreghorn find the killer – or lose his own life in the process?

Edge of the Grave by Robbie Morrison is a dark historical crime novel set in Glasgow, 1932. A city still recovering from the Great War; split by religious division and swarming with razor gangs. For fans of William McIlvanney’s Laidlaw, Denise Mina and Philip Kerr.

Robbie Morrison was born in Helensburgh, Scotland, and grew up in the Renton, Coatbridge, Linwood and Houston. On both sides, his family connection to shipbuilding in Glasgow and the surrounding areas stretches back four generations and is a source of inspiration for the Jimmy Dreghorn series. He sold his first script to publishers DC Thomson in Dundee at the age of twenty-three. One of the most respected writers in the UK comics industry, Edge of the Grave is his first novel.

ISBN: 9781529054033

ISBN-10: 9781529054033

Publisher: Pan

Publication Date: 07/01/2022 - 12:00am

On Sale: 07/01/2022 - 12:00am

Pages: 416

Language: English

Categories

Fiction / Thrillers / Historical

Fiction / Noir

Fiction / Thrillers / Crime

Fiction / Crime