To look after the well-being of our staff, we will be closing the store early January 17 – 30

New Temporary Hours: Sunday 10am – 8pm, Monday-Saturday 8:30am – 8pm

Brookline Booksmith Members, Save the Date: January 22

20% off Biannual Member Sale, In-Store and Online. Not a Member? Renew or Become One Today

Fungus Skull Eye Wing: Selected Poems of Alfonso D?aquino

Fungus Skull Eye Wing: Selected Poems of Alfonso D?aquino cover

Fungus Skull Eye Wing: Selected Poems of Alfonso D?aquino

By  Alfonso D'Aquino , Translator  Forrest Gander
$ 17.00
Add to Wish List
Out of Stock In Store (Available to Order)

"This is the first bilingual collection by the Mexican master of nature poems, D'Aquino...A necessary read for fans of Hart Crane, Jack Spicer, and Latin American poetry in translation."--Booklist

Alfonso D'Aquino was raised by his grandmother in an old house attached to a colonial convent in Coyoac n, Mexico. Books were his best friends from an early age. Often solitary, he spent many afternoons at a small aquarium in the nearby town of San ngel, fascinated then as now by the non-human.--Forrest Gander, from the introduction

fungus skull eye wing is a book of shifting subjectivity and liquid perspective, of surrealist tradition and Butoh-like gestures. The text flirts with the margins of the rational, perception, and the subjective mind. The speaker morphs into what he observes; speech comes alive while a plant becomes speech. Impeccably translated from Spanish by award-winning poet Forrest Gander in a bilingual edition.

From Its Verb's Forked Tongue:

Its verb's forked tongueTransforms transnominatestranslucent linethe viper the verbtranslades its shadowTattoo freakfrom rows of spotsa star transudesa language of scales . . .

Alfonso D'Aquino is an editor, poetry instructor, snake handler, and author of six books. He was born in Mexico City in 1959 and currently lives in Cuernavaca, Mexico. His poetry is included in the landmark anthology Reversible Monuments: Contemporary Mexican Poetry.

Forrest Gander is a poet, translator, and professor at Brown University. His books have been named finalists for the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Critics Circle Award.


Alfonso D'Aquino: Alfonso D'Aquino is an editor, poetry instructor, and author of six books. He was born in Mexico City in 1959 and currently lives in Cuernavaca. His poetry is included in the landmark anthology Reversible Monuments: Contemporary Mexican Poetry. Forrest Gander: Forrest Gander is a poet, translator, and professor at Brown University. His many honors include the Gertrude Stein Award for Innovative North American Poetry and a Guggenheim Fellowship; his books have been named finalists for the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Critics Circle Award.

ISBN: 9781556594472

ISBN-10: 9781556594472

Publisher: Copper Canyon Press

Publication Date: 01/14/2014 - 12:00am

On Sale: 01/21/2014 - 12:00am

Pages: 75

Language: English

Categories

Caribbean & Latin American

Caribbean & Latin American

Subjects & Themes - Nature