Enjoy our expansion this holiday season! More wonderful books and gifts. More space to shop.

More booksmith. More award-winning giftsmith. Learn more  


Monday 9am-9pm, Tuesday thru Thursday 9am-9:30pm, Friday & Saturday 9am-10:30pm, Sunday 10am-9pm

Become What You Are: Expanded Edition

Become What You Are: Expanded Edition cover

Become What You Are: Expanded Edition

$ 15.95
Add to Wish List
Out of Stock In Store

The prominent Zen Buddhist scholar and author of The Wisdom of Insecurity draws on Taoism, Christianity, and other world religions to explore the dilemma of seeking your true self

In this collection of writings, including nine new chapters never before available in book form, Alan Watts displays the intelligence, playfulness of thought, and simplicity of language that has made him so perennially popular as an interpreter of Eastern thought for Westerners. He draws on a variety of religious traditions, and covers topics such as the challenge of seeing one's life “just as it is,” the Taoist approach to harmonious living, the limits of language in the face of ineffable spiritual truth, and the psychological symbolism of Christian thought.

Alan Watts (1915–1973) was a renowned lecturer and the author of nearly thirty books, including The Way of Zen and The Book.

ISBN: 9781570629402

ISBN-10: 9781570629402

Publisher: Shambhala

Publication Date: 03/11/2003 - 12:00am

On Sale: 03/11/2003 - 12:00am

Pages: 144

Language: English


Philosophy / Eastern

Religion / Eastern

Religion / Comparative Religion