The Last Counterfeiter: The Story of Fake Money, Real Art, and Forging the Impossible $100 Bill

The Last Counterfeiter: The Story of Fake Money, Real Art, and Forging the Impossible $100 Bill cover

The Last Counterfeiter: The Story of Fake Money, Real Art, and Forging the Impossible $100 Bill

$ 18.99
Add to Wish List
Out of Stock In Store

The true story of the mastermind counterfeiter who forged millions, replicated the impossible 1996 note, dodged the Secret Service, and healed his broken family.


When Art
Williams Jr.'s father abandoned the family and his bipolar mother lost her
mind, a life of crime in Chicago quickly claimed him. Parking meter theft led
to robbing drug dealers before Art fatefully met a man nicknamed DaVinci who taught
him the skill of counterfeiting money. After just a few years, Art would print
millions of counterfeit bills, selling them to criminal organizations, all
while trying to raise a family on the side.

Art's
greatest challenge arose when the Treasury Department released the 1996 note,
the most intricate and secure bill ever created. Between painstakingly
perfecting a new hundred-dollar bill to bypass the naked eye and security
measures alike, Art was slipping by the Secret Service hunting him, and searching
for his long-lost father, a path that ultimately led to his undoing.

Prison may
have been the end, especially as Art Jr. found himself behind bars sharing a
cell with his own son, but with the same creativity and ambition that locked
him up, Art reinvented himself as a professional artist. Art's unbelievable
journey extends beyond a life of crime to one of second chances, healing family
wounds, and ultimately, triumph.

Fans of Catch Me If You Can and The Art Thief won't want to miss this unforgettable caper story.

ISBN: 9781635768411

ISBN-10: 9781635768411

Publisher: Diversion Books

Publication Date: 03/26/2024 - 12:00am

On Sale: 04/02/2024 - 12:00am

Pages: 336

Language: English

Categories

Criminals & Outlaws

White Collar Crime

Con Artists, Hoaxes & Deceptions