To look after the well-being of our staff, we will be closing the store early January 17 – 30

New Temporary Hours: Sunday 10am – 8pm, Monday-Saturday 8:30am – 8pm

The Heart of the Deal: A Novel

Pre-Order Now Badge
The Heart of the Deal: A Novel cover

The Heart of the Deal: A Novel

$ 16.99
Add to Wish List
Pre-Order (Not Yet Published)

Perfect for fans of The Happy Ever After Playlist and The Boyfriend Project, Lindsay MacMillan’s debut novel deftly captures the feeling of being adrift in your late twenties.

Rae is in a romantic recession.
 
The Wall Street banker is single in New York City and overwhelmed by the pressure to scramble up the corporate and romantic ladders. Feeling her biological clock ticking, she analyzes her love life like a business deal and vows to lock in a husband before her 30th birthday. 
 
The Manhattan dating app scene has as many ups and downs as the stock market, and outsourcing dates to an algorithm isn’t exactly Rae’s idea of romance. She considers cutting her losses, but her friends help her stay invested, boosting her spirits with ice cream and cheap wine that they share in their sixth-floor walk-up while recapping cringe-worthy dates.
 
And then Rae meets Dustin, a poetic soul trapped in a business suit, just like her. She starts to hear wedding bells, but Dustin’s story is a complicated one, and no amount of financial modeling can project what their future will look like.
 
Can Rae free herself from the idea she had of what thirty was supposed to look like and let love breathe on its own timeline? Or is she too conditioned to stay on the “right track” to follow her unpaved intuition?
 
Moving, funny, and timely, The Heart of the Deal is the story of one woman’s reckoning with what success really is in a city, an industry, and a relationship whose low lows continually challenge the enchantment of the high highs.

Lindsay MacMillan is a writer, businesswoman, and hopelessly hopeful romantic. After growing up in Michigan in the land of cows, cornfields, and kindness, she graduated magna cum laude from Dartmouth College. She is now a vice president at Goldman Sachs and has worked in both New York City and London. The Heart of the Deal is her first published novel, and she shares unfiltered poetry and prose on Instagram (@lindsaymacwriting).

ISBN: 9781639100101

ISBN-10: 9781639100101

Publisher: Alcove Press

Publication Date: 06/07/2022 - 12:00am

On Sale: 06/07/2022 - 12:00am

Pages: 352

Language: English

Categories

Fiction / Coming of Age

Fiction / Friendship

Fiction / Romance / Contemporary