In celebration of LatinX Heritage Month, our booksellers have curated a beautiful collection to explore in-store and online. Click here to browse online. 

Miracle Country: A Memoir of a Family and a Landscape

Miracle Country: A Memoir of a Family and a Landscape cover

Miracle Country: A Memoir of a Family and a Landscape

$ 16.95
Add to Wish List
Out of Stock In Store (Click to Order)

WINNER OF THE SIGURD F. OLSON NATURE WRITING AWARD

“Blending family memoir and environmental history, Kendra Atleework conveys a fundamental truth: the places in which we live, live on—sometimes painfully—in us. This is a powerful, beautiful, and urgently important book.”
—Julie Schumacher, author of Dear Committee Members and The Shakespeare Requirement 


Kendra Atleework grew up in Swall Meadows, in the Owens Valley of the Eastern Sierra Nevada, where annual rainfall averages five inches and in drought years measures closer to zero.

Her parents taught their children to thrive in this beautiful if harsh landscape prone to wildfires, blizzards, and gale-force winds. Above all, the Atleework children were raised on unconditional love and delight in the natural world. But when Kendra’s mother died when Kendra was just sixteen, her once-beloved desert world came to feel empty and hostile, as climate change, drought, and wildfires intensified. The Atleework family fell apart, even as her father tried to keep them together. Kendra escaped to Los Angeles, and then Minneapolis, land of tall trees, full lakes, water everywhere you look.

But after years of avoiding her troubled hometown, she felt pulled back. Miracle Country is a moving and unforgettable memoir of flight and return, emptiness and bounty, the realities of a harsh and changing climate, and the true meaning of home. For readers of Cheryl Strayed, Terry Tempest Williams, and Rebecca Solnit, this is a breathtaking debut by a remarkable writer.
 

Kendra Atleework received her MFA in creative writing from the University of Minnesota. An essay that formed the basis for a chapter of Miracle Country was selected for The Best American Essays 2015. She is the recipient of the Ellen Meloy Desert Writers Award and the AWP Intro Journals Project Award.

ISBN: 9781643751412

ISBN-10: 9781643751412

Publisher: Algonquin Books

Publication Date: 06/01/2021 - 12:00am

On Sale: 06/01/2021 - 12:00am

Pages: 320

Language: English

Categories

Biography & Autobiography / Personal Memoirs

Nature / Essays

Family & Relationships

Nature / Natural Disasters