Dragging Mason County

Dragging Mason County cover

Dragging Mason County

$ 15.99
Add to Wish List
Out of Stock In Store

A laugh-out-loud YA debut that examines the realities of small-town queer life and celebrates the transformative power of drag--perfect for fans of RuPaul's Drag Race and Pumpkin.

Peter Thompkins needs a public image overhaul. After a tense confrontation with one of the few other queer kids in his small-town high school, rumors about him are becoming more elaborate by the day. Meanwhile, his best friend Alan (aka teen drag queen Aggie Culture) is throwing Mason County's debut Drag Extravaganza. Although Peter is a self-described "dragnostic," he decides to help produce the show, hoping to prove that he isn't a self-hating gay. In the process, he finds himself facing down angry guard dogs, angrier bigots, and a very high-strung church lady. As backlash grows, Peter begins to wonder whether he's setting fire to his already damaged reputation and if his friendship with Alan will survive past curtain call.

At turns touching, sharply funny, and a little absurd, Dragging Mason County explores the pains and pleasures of queer community through one teen's journey to self-acceptance.

CURTIS CAMPBELL is a Toronto-based writer born and raised in rural Ontario. You can sometimes find him in drag as Alanis Percocet.

ISBN: 9781773217888

ISBN-10: 9781773217888

Publisher: Annick Press

Publication Date: 10/03/2023 - 12:00am

On Sale: 10/03/2023 - 12:00am

Pages: 264

Language: English

Categories

LGBTQ+

Performing Arts - Theater & Musicals

Social Themes - Friendship