Shop our world-class Bargain Books, now online! Special discounts on fabulous books in hand-selected collections of Fiction, NonFiction, Cookbooks, Gift Books, and Kids Books.

The Princess Spy: The True Story of World War II Spy Aline Griffith, Countess of Romanones

The Princess Spy: The True Story of World War II Spy Aline Griffith, Countess of Romanones cover

The Princess Spy: The True Story of World War II Spy Aline Griffith, Countess of Romanones

By  Larry Loftis , Read by  Kate Reading
$ 39.99
Add to Wish List
Out of Stock In Store (Click to Order)

The international bestselling author of the "exciting, suspenseful, inspirational" (Brad Thor, #1 New York Times bestselling author) Code Name: Lise weaves another exceptional and thrilling hidden history of an ordinary American girl who became one of the OSS's most daring spies in World War II before marrying into European nobility. Perfect for fans of A Woman of No Importance and Code Girls.When Aline Griffith was born in a quiet suburban New York hamlet, no one had any idea that she would go on to live "a life of glamour and danger that Ingrid Bergman only played at in Notorious" (Time). As the US enters the Second World War, the young college graduate is desperate to aid in the war effort, but no one is interested in a bright-eyed young woman whose only career experience is modeling clothes. Aline's life changes when, at a dinner party, she meets a man named Frank Ryan and reveals how desperately she wants to do her part for her country. Within a few weeks, he helps her join the Office of Strategic Services--forerunner of the CIA. With a code name and expert training under her belt, she is sent to Spain to be a coder, but is soon given the additional assignment of infiltrating the upper echelons of society, mingling with high-ranking officials, diplomats, and titled Europeans, any of whom could be an enemy agent. Against this glamorous backdrop of galas and dinner parties, she recruits sub-agents and engages in deep-cover espionage to counter Nazi tactics in Madrid. Even after marrying the Count of Romanones, one of the wealthiest men in Spain, Aline secretly continues her covert activities, being given special assignments when abroad that would benefit from her impeccable pedigree and social connections. Filled with twists, romance, and plenty of white-knuckled adventures fit for a James Bond film, The Princess Spy brings to vivid life the dazzling adventures of a remarkable American woman who risked everything to serve her country.

ISBN: 9781797118000

ISBN-10: 9781797118000

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio

Publication Date: 02/09/2021 - 12:00am

On Sale: 02/09/2021 - 12:00am

Language: English

Categories

Women

Military - World War II

Espionage

More by Larry Loftis

  • The Princess Spy: The True Story of WWII Spy Aline Griffith, Countess of Romanones Cover Image
  • The Princess Spy: The True Story of World War II Spy Aline Griffith, Countess of Romanones Cover Image
  • The Princess Spy: The True Story of World War II Spy Aline Griffith, Countess of Romanones Cover Image
  • Code Name: Lise: The True Story of the Woman Who Became WWII's Most Highly Decorated Spy Cover Image
  • Code Name: Lise Cover Image
  • Code Name: Lise: The True Story of the Spy Who Became WWII's Most Highly Decorated Woman Cover Image
  • Code Name: Lise: The True Story of the Woman Who Became WWII's Most Highly Decorated Spy Cover Image
  • Into the Lion's Mouth: The True Story of Dusko Popov: Word War II Spy, Patriot, and the Real-Life Inspiration for James Bond Cover Image
  • Into the Lion's Mouth: The True Story of Dusko Popov: World War II Spy, Patriot, and the Real-Life Inspiration for James Bond Cover Image