Enjoy 50% off selected gifts and specialty foods at our Summer Gift Sale, July 25 thru Aug, while supplies last!

On Sunday, August 21st, the store will be closing at 5:00PM for a private event. We will reopen at 8:30AM on Monday, August 22nd. Thank you for your understanding.

The Promise of a Normal Life: A Novel

Pre-Order Now Badge
The Promise of a Normal Life: A Novel cover

The Promise of a Normal Life: A Novel

$ 26.99
Add to Wish List
Pre-Order (Not Yet Published)

For readers of Marilynne Robinson, Elizabeth Strout, and Katie Kitamura, the indelible journey of a quiet young woman—the “silent person”—finding her way.  

Hailed as “radiant and transporting” (Margot Livesey), The Promise of a Normal Life is a poet’s debut novel, so evocative of life as lived that it transports you to a time and place you can practically see, touch, and feel. The unnamed narrator is a fiercely observant, introverted Jewish-American girl who seems to exist in a private and separate realm. She's the child of a first-generation doctor and lawyer—whose own stories have the loud grandeur of family legend—in an America where Jews are excluded from the country club across the street. Her expectations for adulthood are often contradictory. In the changing landscape of the 1960s, she attempts to find her way through the rituals of life, her geography expanding across the country, across the ocean, and into multiple nations. 

Along the way, she meets a glamorous hairdresser on a cruise ship to Israel, loopy tarot-card-reading passengers, and Alice-in-Wonderland lawyers in Haifa. There’s a blue-eyed all-American college boyfriend, a mystified tourist agent in the Lofoten Islands, a handsome eligible rabbi in LA, a righteous and self-absorbed MIT professor, and a clandestine, calculating lover in Boston. Eventually, she finds her own compass, but only after being swept to several distant shores by many winds.

Rebecca Kaiser Gibson is the author of the poetry collections Girl as Birch and Opinel. Her short work has appeared in SlateAgni, the Los Angeles Review of BooksNorthwest Review, the Massachusetts ReviewTupelo QuarterlyHarvard ReviewGreen Mountain ReviewPleiades, and many other magazines. She taught creative writing at Tufts University in the Boston area for twenty-three years and has received writing fellowships from MacDowell, Vermont Studio Center, the Virginia Center for Creative Arts, and the Massachusetts Cultural Council. She lives in Marlborough, NH.
 

ISBN: 9781956763331

ISBN-10: 9781956763331

Publisher: Arcade

Publication Date: 02/07/2023 - 12:00am

On Sale: 02/07/2023 - 12:00am

Pages: 216

Language: English

Categories

Fiction / Women

Fiction / Family Life / Marriage & Divorce

Fiction / Coming of Age

Fiction / Jewish