Try Ask a Bookseller to have our knowledgable booksellers deliver personalized recommendations directly to you!

The Princess Spy: The True Story of World War II Spy Aline Griffith, Countess of Romanones

The Princess Spy: The True Story of World War II Spy Aline Griffith, Countess of Romanones cover

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
Featured on Today
What to Read in 2021 by The Washington Post
A Wall Street Journal monthly pick

​The international bestselling author of the “exciting, suspenseful, inspirational” (Brad Thor, #1 New York Times bestselling author) Code Name: Lise weaves another exceptional and thrilling hidden history of an ordinary American girl who became one of the OSS’s most daring spies in World War II before marrying into European nobility. Perfect for fans of A Woman of No Importance and Code Girls.

When Aline Griffith was born in a quiet suburban New York hamlet, no one had any idea that she would go on to live “a life of glamour and danger that Ingrid Bergman only played at in Notorious” (Time). As the US enters the Second World War, the young college graduate is desperate to aid in the war effort, but no one is interested in a bright-eyed young woman whose only career experience is modeling clothes.

Aline’s life changes when, at a dinner party, she meets a man named Frank Ryan and reveals how desperately she wants to do her part for her country. Within a few weeks, he helps her join the Office of Strategic Services—forerunner of the CIA. With a code name and expert training under her belt, she is sent to Spain to be a coder, but is soon given the additional assignment of infiltrating the upper echelons of society, mingling with high-ranking officials, diplomats, and titled Europeans, any of whom could be an enemy agent. Against this glamorous backdrop of galas and dinner parties, she recruits sub-agents and engages in deep-cover espionage to counter Nazi tactics in Madrid.

Even after marrying the Count of Romanones, one of the wealthiest men in Spain, Aline secretly continues her covert activities, being given special assignments when abroad that would benefit from her impeccable pedigree and social connections.

Filled with twists, romance, and plenty of white-knuckled adventures fit for a James Bond film, The Princess Spy brings to vivid life the dazzling adventures of a remarkable American woman who risked everything to serve her country.

Larry Loftis is the New York Times and international bestselling author of the nonfiction spy thrillers The Princess Spy: The True Story of World War II Spy Aline Griffith, Countess of Romanones; Code Name: Lise—The True Story of the Woman Who Became WWII’s Most Highly Decorated Spy; and Into the Lion’s Mouth: The True Story of Dusko Popov—World War II Spy, Patriot, and the Real-Life Inspiration for James Bond, which have been published around the world in multiple languages. Prior to becoming a full-time writer, Mr. Loftis was a corporate attorney and adjunct professor of law. He can be found on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and at LarryLoftis.com.   

ISBN: 9781982143862

ISBN-10: 9781982143862

Publisher: Atria Books

Publication Date: 02/09/2021 - 12:00am

On Sale: 02/09/2021 - 12:00am

Pages: 384

Language: English

Categories

Biography & Autobiography / Women

History / Military / World War II

True Crime / Espionage

More by Larry Loftis

  • The Princess Spy: The True Story of WWII Spy Aline Griffith, Countess of Romanones Cover Image
  • The Princess Spy: The True Story of World War II Spy Aline Griffith, Countess of Romanones Cover Image
  • The Princess Spy: The True Story of World War II Spy Aline Griffith, Countess of Romanones Cover Image
  • Code Name: Lise: The True Story of the Woman Who Became WWII's Most Highly Decorated Spy Cover Image
  • Code Name: Lise Cover Image
  • Code Name: Lise: The True Story of the Woman Who Became WWII's Most Highly Decorated Spy Cover Image
  • Code Name: Lise: The True Story of the Spy Who Became WWII's Most Highly Decorated Woman Cover Image
  • Into the Lion's Mouth: The True Story of Dusko Popov: Word War II Spy, Patriot, and the Real-Life Inspiration for James Bond Cover Image
  • Into the Lion's Mouth: The True Story of Dusko Popov: World War II Spy, Patriot, and the Real-Life Inspiration for James Bond Cover Image