In celebration of Independence Day, our store will close at 6pm on Monday, July 4th

 

Otherwise, we have extended our STORE HOURS!

Monday 8:30am-9pm, Tuesday-Saturday 8:30am-10pm, Sunday 10am-9pm 

Girls Can Kiss Now: Essays

Girls Can Kiss Now: Essays cover

Girls Can Kiss Now: Essays

$ 17.00
Add to Wish List
Likely On Our Shelves

Named One of the Most Anticipated Books of 2022 by Vogue, BuzzFeed, Bustle, Marie Claire, Harper’s Bazaar, Electric Lit, Thrillist, Glamour, CNN, and Shondaland

“Wickedly funny and heartstoppingly vulnerable…every page twinkles with brilliance.” —Refinery29

Perfect for fans of Samantha Irby and Trick Mirror, a funny, whip-smart collection of personal essays exploring the intersection of queerness, relationships, pop culture, the internet, and identity, introducing one of the most undeniably original new voices today.

Jill Gutowitz’s life—for better and worse—has always been on a collision course with pop culture. There’s the time the FBI showed up at her door because of something she tweeted about Game of Thrones. The pop songs that have been the soundtrack to the worst moments of her life. And of course, the pivotal day when Orange Is the New Black hit the airwaves and broke down the door to Jill’s own sexuality. In these honest examinations of identity, desire, and self-worth, Jill explores perhaps the most monumental cultural shift of our lifetimes: the mainstreaming of lesbian culture. Dusting off her own personal traumas and artifacts of her not-so-distant youth she examines how pop culture acts as a fun house mirror reflecting and refracting our values—always teaching, distracting, disappointing, and revealing us.

Girls Can Kiss Now is a fresh and intoxicating blend of personal stories, sharp observations, and laugh-out-loud humor. This timely collection of essays helps us make sense of our collective pop-culture past even as it points the way toward a joyous, uproarious, near—and very queer—future.

Jill Gutowitz is a writer from New Jersey. Her writing has appeared in publications such as The New Yorker, Vanity Fair, Vulture, and more. She lives in Los Angeles with her partner and a very small cat. 

ISBN: 9781982158507

ISBN-10: 9781982158507

Publisher: Atria Books

Publication Date: 03/08/2022 - 12:00am

On Sale: 03/08/2022 - 12:00am

Pages: 240

Language: English

Categories

Humor / Form / Essays

Biography & Autobiography / LGBTQ+

Humor / Topic / Celebrity & Popular Culture