JOIN US FOR I <3 BOOKSMITH THIS WEDNESDAY, 4/17/24, as almost everything we sell will be 20% off online and in-store!

On Patriots' Day/Marathon Monday (April 15) we will be open from 9AM-6PM. Please note our early closure, and remember that the Boston Marathon runs down Beacon Street when making your travel plans!

Home Home

Home Home cover

Home Home

$ 11.99
Add to Wish List
Out of Stock In Store

Fans of Monday's Not Coming and Girl in Pieces will love this award-winning novel about a girl on the verge of losing herself and her unlikely journey to recovery after she is removed from anything and everyone she knows to be home.

Moving from Trinidad to Canada wasn't her idea. But after being hospitalized for depression, her mother sees it as the only option. Now, living with an estranged aunt she barely remembers and dealing with her "troubles" in a foreign country, she feels more lost than ever.

Everything in Canada is cold and confusing. No one says hello, no one walks anywhere, and bus trips are never-ending and loud. She just wants to be home home, in Trinidad, where her only friend is going to school and Sunday church service like she used to do.

But this new home also brings unexpected surprises: the chance at a family that loves unconditionally, the possibility of new friends, and the promise of a hopeful future. Though she doesn't see it yet, Canada is a place where she can feel at home--if she can only find the courage to be honest with herself.

"A hopeful story about finding one's place."-Kirkus Reviews, Starred review

Lisa Allen-Agostini is a widely published novelist, journalist, and poet from Trinidad and Tobago. She writes primarily about the Caribbean, its people, and its culture. Lisa lives in Trinidad with her family; her dog, Sassy; and her fabulous cat, Fennec. Home Home is her second novel for young adults and a CODE Burt Award finalist. To learn more about Lisa, visit lisaallen-agostini.com and follow @AllenAgostini on Twitter.

ISBN: 9781984893611

ISBN-10: 9781984893611

Publisher: Ember

Publication Date: 07/13/2021 - 12:00am

On Sale: 07/13/2021 - 12:00am

Pages: 160

Language: English

Categories

Young Adult Fiction / Girls & Women

Young Adult Fiction / Social Themes / Mental Illness

Young Adult Fiction / People & Places / Caribbean & Latin America