We are OPEN on Memorial Day (5/27) but will CLOSE EARLY at 7PM. We hope to see you then!

Tegan & Sara: Junior High with Tillie Walden

Tegan & Sara: Junior High with Tillie Walden

Wednesday, May 31, 2023 - 6:00PM ET
Event address: 
Coolidge Corner Theatre
290 Harvard Street
Coolidge Corner
Brookline, MA 02446-2908

Live and in person with Brookline Booksmith, at Coolidge Corner Theatre! Celebrate the release of Tegan and Sara: Junior High with authors Tegan Quin and Sara Quin, and illustrator Tillie Walden.

 

Register for the event!

This event is ticketed. Tickets include a general admission seat at the event AND a paperback copy of Tegan & Sara: Junior High.

SUBMIT A QUESTION AT CHECKOUT TO HAVE IT CONSIDERED FOR THE Q&A. ONLY PRE-SUBMITTED QUESTIONS WILL BE ANSWERED.

Ticketholders will receive email updates with important details about the program, including safety requirements and cancellations.

 

Tegan & Sara: Junior High

From indie-pop twin-sister duo Tegan and Sara comes a contemporary middle grade graphic memoir that explores growing up, coming out, and finding yourself through music and sisterhood, perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier 's Sisters.

Before Tegan and Sara took the music world by storm, the Quins were just two identical twins trying to find their place in a new home and new school. From first crushes to the perils of puberty, surviving junior high is something the sisters plan to face side by side, just like they've always faced things. But growing up also means growing apart, as Tegan and Sara make different friends and take separate paths to understanding their queerness. For the first time ever, they ask who one sister is without the other.

Set in the present day, this inspiring graphic novel memoir, with artwork from Eisner Award-winner Tillie Walden, offers a glimpse at two sisters before they became icons, exploring their shifting relationship, their own experiences coming out, and the first steps of their musical journey.

A prequel of sorts to the authors' bestselling adult memoir High School, now an 8-episode Freevee television series!

During the course of their seasoned career, Tegan Quin and Sara Quin have sold well over one million records and released numerous studio albums. They have received three Juno Awards, a Grammy nomination, a Governor General’s Performing Arts Award, and the New York Civil Liberties Union Award. Tegan and Sara have performed on some of the world’s biggest stages, from Coachella to the Academy Awards, and are executive producers of the TV series High School based on their New York Times–bestselling adult memoir of the same name. They are also the authors of the Tegan and Sara graphic novel series for young readers, which is illustrated by Eisner Award–winner Tillie Walden. In 2016, they created the Tegan and Sara Foundation, which fights for health, economic justice, and representation for LGBTQ+ people. The sisters currently reside in Vancouver, British Columbia.

Tillie Walden is a cartoonist and an illustrator who is a twin from Austin, Texas. She has published numerous graphic novels, including her Eisner Award–winning memoir Spinning. She currently lives in Lebanon, New Hampshire, with her cat, Stan.

 

EVENT ACCESSIBILITY

This event will take place on the ground floor of Coolidge Corner Theatre. Wheelchair spaces are available in the theater. ASL interpretation may be provided (based on the availability of interpreters) but must be requested at least 2 weeks in advance of the event. Seats are general admission (first come, first served). Please email us at tickets@brooklinebooksmith.com as soon as possible if you require ASL interpretation, a guaranteed seat location, a wheelchair space, or other accommodations. We will do our best to serve your needs!