brookline booksmith

Events Blog Giftsmith Kidsmith Used Book Cellar Audiobooks

Upcoming Events

 image

Join us for a night of new fiction, nonfiction and poetry from the MFA candidates of Boston University, Emerson College, and the University of Massachusetts–Boston. Free and open for all to attend!


When darkness sweeps the Maresh Empire the fraught balance of magic blossoms into dangerous territory. The sequel to A Gathering of Shadows and the final book in the Shades of Magic series, A Conjuring of Light sees New York Times-bestselling author V. E. Schwab reach a thrilling conclusion.

Sometimes enemies are our only allies…In the second book of The Witchlands series, characters forge unlikely alliances in the fires of life and death. Caught between three empires with as many kinds of magic as ways to get in trouble, Susan Dennard’s protagonists do what they must to survive.

Three generations of the Kurc family try to live normal Jewish lives in the shadow of war, but soon the horrors overtaking Europe become inescapable. Desperate times force one into exile, while others labor in the ghetto or hide as gentiles. In history’s darkest hour, can the human spirit triumph?

In their new books—Jen’s, a psychological study, and Li’s, an intimate memoir—Gish Jen and Yiyun Li compare conceptions of identity between the Eastern and Western worlds.

 image

Join us in our children’s section for a drop-in reading of our favorite picture books! Free and open to all ages.

In this fierce work for fans of Maggie Nelson and Leslie Jamison, Febos explores the need for connection and her struggle to find it–both within her fractured family and in a long-distance love affair.

In his new series, Stone introduces L.A. investigator Morris Brick, a former homicide cop on the trail of a murderous psychopath who gives a terrifying new meaning to the word DERANGED…

In her new book, psychologist and neuroscientist Lisa Feldman Barrett sheds light on the science of emotion – its relationship to rational thought, individuals’ control over their urges, and the broader implications emotionality has for life.

From lingerie to railroad tracks, activism to DNA, British colonies to birds in flight, three stunning collections take up the task of assembling our patchwork selves with language that soars off the page.

Discussing Season of Migration to the North by Tayeb Salih

The Brookline Booksmith Book Club meets at 7:30pm downstairs in our Writers and Readers Room. No need to sign up, just show up. To contact our moderator, email bookclub@brooklinebooksmith.com

Discussing Kneeknock Rise by Natalie Babbitt

Join our kids’ book club on the second Tuesday of every month from 4:30-5:30pm to discuss a great book! No sign-up needed. Ask a kids’ bookseller about this month’s pick or email alex@brooklinebooksmith.com for more information.

Thirty years after a brutal murder, psychologist Dustin’s brother is out of prison. Meanwhile, one of his patients opens up about a string of drownings. Dustin dismisses talk of a serial killer at first. Dan Chaon explores two sensational unsolved crimes, both linked by one man’s memory and self-deception.

Dan Chaon in conversation with Tom Perrotta.

In Ben Berman’s remarkable collection, poems replete with puns and witticisms meditate on shapes, angles, thinking about thinking, and the trials/joys of fatherhood. Krysten Hill’s new book is a lively, urgent song. She calls on the writers whose voices raised her–Sylvia Plath, Audre Lorde, and Zora Neale Hurston–to navigate the landscape of selfhood.

 image

Join us for a night of new fiction, nonfiction and poetry from the MFA candidates of Boston University, Emerson College, and UMass Boston. Free and open for all to attend!

 image

Join us in our children’s section for a special Passover storytime! Free and open to all ages.

 

Discussing We Show What We Have Learned by Clare Beams

Read something off the beaten path! Our Small Press Book Club discusses new books from independent publishers. To contact our moderator, email smallpress@brooklinebooksmith.com

Award-winners Klassen and Barnett (Sam and Dave Dig a Hole) team up again for the first installment in a new picture book trilogy. Sneaky Triangle thinks he will play a trick on his friend Square…but who will trick whom? All ages are welcome!

Tickets for this event are $1 each, available for purchase in-store or by phone (617.566.6660).

Unrelentingly feminist, tender, ruthless, and sequined, Parker’s poems are an altar to the complexities of black American womanhood in a time of war over bodies and power. They celebrate, they mourn, they command your undivided attention.

New York Times-bestselling author Kate Alcott is back with a new novel of self discovery and family secrets set against the backdrop of 1950s Hollywood, and legendary actress Ingrid Bergman’s descent into infamy.

A whimsical blend of memoir and travelogue, laced with wry writing advice, Bleaker House is the story of Steven’s attempt to hunker down and write her novel – not in some idyllic French villa, but on a frozen rock in the Falklands, with only penguins and her own paranoia for company.

 image

Join local artists Sasha Parfenova and Melissa Rocklen as we celebrate our new Stairwell Gallery show! Free and open to the public, refreshments provided.  

In her thrilling new novel, New York Times-bestselling author Lisa See explores themes of family, culture, and distance through the story of a Chinese mother and her daughter, who has been adopted by an American couple.

Brimming with intelligence and personality, Kory Stamper’s debut is a vastly entertaining account of how dictionaries are made—a must read for word mavens everywhere.

Local teens showcase their literary talents! Join Brookline’s up-and-coming poets for a night of the spoken word.

Join our mailing list to get b-mail, our weekly newsletter