Upcoming Event

Register

Virtual Event: Carlos Fonseca and Andrew Martin

This event will take place virtually on Crowdcast. Click the button above to register for this virtual event.

Join the Transnational Literature Series for an evening of fiction with Carlos Fonseca and Andrew Martin.

Natural History by Carlos Fonseca and translated by Megan McDowell is the portrait of a world trapped between faith and irony, between tragedy and farce. A defiantly contemporary and impressively ambitious novel in the tradition of Italo Calvino and Ricardo Piglia, it confirms Carlos Fonseca as one of the most daring writers of his generation.

Carlos Fonseca was born in San José, Costa Rica, and spent half of his childhood and adolescence in Puerto Rico. In 2016, he was named one of the twenty best Latin American writers born in the 1980s at the Guadalajara Book Fair, and in 2017 he was included in the Bogotá39 list of the best Latin American writers under forty. He is the author of the novel Colonel Lágrimas, and in 2018, he won the National Prize for Literature in Costa Rica for his book of essays, La Lucidez del Miope. He teaches at Trinity College, Cambridge, and lives in London.

Expanding the world of his classic-in-the-making debut novel Early Work, Andrew Martin’s Cool for America is a hilarious collection of overlapping stories that explores the dark zone between artistic ambition and its achievement.

Andrew Martin’s first novel Early Work was a New York Times Notable Book of 2018 and a finalist for the Cabell First Novelist Award. His stories and essays have been published in The Paris Review, The New York Review of Books, Harper’s, and T: The New York Times Style Magazine. He lives in New York with his partner, Laura, and their dog, Bonnie.

Add to Calendar